Uncategorized

P & J’s Christmas Fête

Bonjour mon ami!  Countdown to Christmas is almost done!!  How is it just a few days away?  We will be heading to the Bay Area to hang with my fam.  Looking forward to the quick getaway, although it’s always crazy when we go home. 😉

I meant to get this post up sooner but things have been super busy!  I know I’m not the only one in that boat.

A couple weekends ago my husband and I threw a little Christmas party.  We had been talking about having a party for quite awhile but decided last minute to quickly put one together.

Thankfully our place was already decorated so I didn’t really have much to do on that front.

We came up with a few signature drinks.  Our guests could choose from a Dirty Martini, an Old Fashioned or a Spritz (a drink we became familiar with in Italy).  Yummy!  My husband had fun being the bartender for the night.dsc_0963

I made the menu board from a picture frame I bought at the 99 Cents store.  I had chalkboard paint on hand and spray painted the glass.  It makes a quick and easy chalkboard.  I love it!dsc_0964

I didn’t want to spend too much time in the kitchen so the food we chose was easy to prep and serve.

The apps were pretty simple yet oh so tasty!  My sister Marie told me about this Roasted Butternut Squash and Blue Cheese appetizer she recently had at a party.  I’m not a big blue cheese fan so we did the whole thing with goat cheese.  PLEASE try it!!  It was AMAZING and really inexpensive. dsc_0903

You can never go wrong with a charcuterie board.  Get creative and have fun with it.  Load it with plenty of options…sweet, salty, savory…I would have preferred to keep the meat off the board as I don’t eat meat but I had to satisfy my carnivore in the family.dsc_0895

Stuffed shells were another food option.  They were so easy to make!  I used this recipe from Craving Some Creativity.  I made one without sausage and one with.  They were a huge hit!

On to desserts!  My sister Sharon is a pastry chef and she brought us an amazing spread.  I seriously could not stop eating the goodies she baked.  Peanut butter cookies, chocolate chip cookies with sea salt on top, zucchini bread…just to name a few.  I can’t wait to have more.  Thanks sister! dsc_0897

We don’t have any children but a few of our friends do.  I knew I needed something to keep them entertained.  I had some coloring books and crayons leftover from our wedding.  Score!  I also picked up this “selfie” Christmas picture thing from Ross.  It kept the kids and the adults entertained. 🙂dsc_0993

All in all, I think our party was a total success.  Our friends seemed to have fun and it was great hanging out and enjoying each other’s company with tasty food and drinks.  I’m looking forward to our next fête!dsc_0974-1

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!  I hope you have a blessed holiday season with your loved ones.  We’ll talk soon!  xo, Jenneke Rose

 

 

3 thoughts on “P & J’s Christmas Fête

Leave a Reply

